Press kit










We all are central regions


The main goal to the PropulseART Research Program, initiated by the Society for Arts and Technology [SAT], is to enable remote groups to “be together”, to break geographically induced remoteness itself by way of a public event, whether of cultural, educational or socio-economic nature. Combining the advantages of IP fiber optic networks, of digital audiovisual technologies and IT, PropulseArt makes it possible to link together, in an interactive manner, remote locations with dozens, hundreds or even thousands of people, whatever the distance. The program offers an alternative to the current vision of a collective future solely involving individual computer screens and creates opportunities for remote collaborations between two or more physically distant communities. With a territory as wide as the Province of Québec, social, economic and ecological advantages are obvious. Imagine what they would provide on an international scale.

At first initiated to reinforce both the stability and quality of sound, video and data transmissions for remote networked shows and events, PropulseART can also accommodate events such as socio-economic colloquiums and conferences, regional gatherings and meetings and other similar manifestations. Furthermore, the locations where these types of events are organized are very often theatres or public cultural venues, particularly when located outside of major urban centers. By connecting culture we are connecting communities. The alliance between culture, education and regional development is only natural under that light. Every community wishes for great visibility beyond their immediate surroundings. They all need external links and contact points in order to become challenged intellectually to develop and prosper.

Distribution under GPL (General Public License and open source code) was an obvious choice for the development of such a platform. Initially financed with public funds, PropulseART will benefit many different sectors and create opportunities for countless collateral services, generating incomes for participating communities: production and presentation of content over the network, highly qualified jobs in the concerned regions, network and audiovisual integration, specialized education… open source implies multiple collaborations. Whether coming from Sweden, Catalunya, Belgium or Gaspé, the participants’ “being together” will dictate the outcome of the project which will be shared by communities of developers around the world.


A collective experience for Quebec


Since the late-80s, with the help of the Canadian and Quebec governments, universities have been financing Quebec's Scientific Information Network (RISQ - Réseau d'Informations Scientifiques du Québec), one of the most efficient fiber optic infrastructures in the world. They have provided Quebec’s community of researchers, artists and higher education professionals a top of the range fiber optic network. This network links together all the Universities and CEGEPs in Quebec. Such institutions are all house auditoriums where they regularly hold educational, social and cultural meetings and events. Ideal places for public gatherings and encounters, such venues are already connected to the very heart of their local and regional community.

The network is currently employed essentially for web browsing and centralized software used for research and educational purposes. Bidirectional audiovisual collaboration, even with its amazing potential, is underused mainly because of a lack of knowledge and expertise, and certainly not due to lack of interest. With the help of PropulseART, it is now possible to create a network of expertise in Quebec connected to the rest of the world that will develop open source software and to which each participant offers their contribution thus enriching it. We wish to provide communities with the tools and savoir-faire that will help them turn their auditoriums and venues into infrastructures allowing interactive collaboration not only with other regions in Quebec but with the rest of the world.

The undergoing cultural digital mutation necessitates the collaboration of the cultural, scientific, technological and sociological sectors which, combined together, have an essential role to play in the emergence of innovative projects and proposals. There is an urgent and imperative need to support such initiatives regrouping Quebecois artists and IT & telecom entrepreneurs to develop contents, technological solutions and processes that will benefit Quebec’s culture and society, generating exportations, create jobs and common wealth.

This transversal consortium will eventually put Quebec in a leadership position in terms of creative production, presentation and conservation of digital content along with countries that care for the preservation of their cultural dynamism and the development of new and innovative social and economic models.

René Barsalo,
Director, Research & Strategy at the SAT


Partner's point of view


“The RISQ is delighted to partner with the SAT and its PropulseART software to celebrate Gaspé’s 475th anniversary. The groundbreaking PropulseART technology provides several communities in the province of Quebec with exciting opportunities at both the educational and cultural level. It also requires a top of the range infrastructure. Connecting educational institutions in Quebec, the RISQ’s advanced IT network was conceived and designed to accommodate the very demanding needs of the research and education sectors. The extent of our network and the participation of the Réseau collectif de la Gaspésie (Gaspésie’s collective network) allows us to reach all of the regions in Quebec and offer them such promising services.”

Michel Vanier,
Chief Executive Officer – RISQ, Inc.


“For RIDEAU, PropulseART offers a unique opportunity to accelerate decentralization as it enables regional artistic initiatives greater reach to larger urban centers and vice versa as well as between regions. This is, to us, the true essence of networking.”

Colette Brouillé,
Executive Director - RIDEAU


“When Gaspésie and Montreal decide join forces, the whole of Quebec benefits.”

Roland Auger,
Executive Director - Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional :: Valid CSS :: Powered by WikkaWiki

Revues de presse










Nous sommes tous des régions centres


L'objectif du programme de recherche PropulseART, initié par la Société des arts technologiques [SAT], est de permettre à des groupes éloignés « d’être ensemble », voir même de briser l’isolement géographique pour plusieurs, le temps d'un événement, qu'il soit de nature culturelle, éducative ou socio-économique. En combinant les possibilités offertes par les réseaux IP de fibres optiques, de l'audiovisuel numérique et des technologies de l'information, PropulseART ouvre la possibilité de relier de manière interactive des lieux où peuvent se réunir des dizaines, des centaines ou des milliers de personnes et ce, qu'importe la distance. Il offre une alternative à la vision actuelle d'un avenir collectif uniquement branché à l'écran individuel, tout en ouvrant de nouvelles possibilités en matière de collaborations à distance entre deux ou plusieurs communautés éloignées. Avec un territoire de l’ampleur du Québec, les avantages en termes sociaux, économiques et écologiques sont évidents. Imaginez ceux-ci à l'échelle planétaire.

Initié au départ pour renforcer la stabilité et la qualité des transmissions audiovisuelles et de données lors de la production de spectacles en réseau, les fonctionalités intégrées dans PropulseART peuvent également combler les besoins d'autres types d'événements tels que les conférences socio-économiques, les rencontres régionales et tous autres types d'événements similaires. De plus, les lieux où se tiennent ces types d'événements sont souvent les mêmes que ceux où ont lieu les performances culturelles, surtout hors des grands centres urbains. En reliant la culture, nous relions les communautés. L'idée d'une alliance entre la culture, l'éducation et le développement régional, est alors toute indiquée. Tous souhaitent une plus grande visibilité hors de leurs régions immédiates. Tous ont besoin de liens extérieurs pour se nourrir intellectuellement et se développer.

La distribution sous licence à code source ouvert est toute indiquée dans le développement de cette plateforme. PropulseART, financé au départ par des fonds publics, profitera à plusieurs secteurs de la société tout en ouvrant de nombreux nouveaux secteurs d'activités connexes, générateurs de revenus pour les collectivités participantes : création et diffusion de contenus en réseau, emplois régionaux à valeur ajoutée, intégration réseau et audiovisuelle, formations spécialisées... L'ouverture du code implique aussi l'ouverture aux collaborations multiples. Que les collaborateurs proviennent de Suède, de Catalogne, de Belgique ou de Gaspé, la poursuite du développement de PropulseART est liée à la volonté de tous d'« être ensemble » et sera partagée entre les communautés de développeurs du monde.


Une expérience collective pour le Québec


Les universités, aidées des gouvernements du Québec et du Canada, financent depuis la fin des années 80 une infrastructure de fibres optiques parmi les plus performantes au monde nommée Réseau d'informations scientifiques du Québec (RISQ). Ils ont ainsi doté la communauté québécoise de recherche, de création et d'enseignement supérieur d'un réseau de fibres optiques à la fine pointe de la technologie. Ce réseau relie actuellement l'ensemble des universités et des CEGEP au Québec. Tous possèdent un auditorium où ont lieu régulièrement des rencontres éducatives, citoyennes, sociales et culturelles. Ces lieux de rassemblements et de rencontres sont déjà bien intégrés au tissu social de leur municipalité et de leur région.

Actuellement, ce réseau est utilisé majoritairement pour « naviguer » sur le Web et pour permettre l'utilisation d'applications centralisées nécessaires à la recherche et l'enseignement. La collaboration audiovisuelle bidirectionnelle, potentiel formidable et unique de ce type de réseau, est sous-utilisée par manque d'informations et d'expériences, non par manque d'intérêts. Grâce à PropulseART, nous pouvons maintenant envisager de former un réseau québécois d'expertises, en lien avec l'international, développant des outils logiciels à code source ouvert, où chacun pourra y apporter sa contribution et l'enrichir. Nous souhaitons ainsi permettre aux communautés de pouvoir transformer sur demande leurs auditoriums et salles de spectacles en infrastructures de collaborations permettant d'interagir avec les autres régions du Québec et du monde.

La mutation culturelle numérique en cours nécessite la collaboration des secteurs culturels, scientifiques, technologiques et sociologiques qui, réunis, peuvent participer à l’émergence de propositions innovantes. Il faut impérativement et rapidement soutenir les initiatives qui regroupent les créateurs et entrepreneurs québécois de la culture, des TI et des télécoms afin de développer des contenus, des technologies et des processus qui, en plus des bénéfices pour la culture et la société québécoise, seront exportables, créateurs d’emplois et de richesses collectives.

Ce regroupement transversal permettra, à terme, au Québec de prendre place parmi les leaders mondiaux de la création, la diffusion et la préservation des contenus numériques, avec les pays qui ont à cœur le maintien de leur dynamisme culturel et le développement de nouveaux modèles sociaux et économiques.

René Barsalo,
Directeur, Recherche & Stratégie de la SAT


Visions des partenaires


« Le RISQ est heureux de s’associer avec la SAT pour souligner le 475ème anniversaire de Gaspé, dans le cadre de l’utilisation du logiciel PropulseART. Une application aussi novatrice que PropulseART offre aux différentes communautés du Québec des opportunités très intéressantes sur le plan du développement éducatif et culturel, mais il requiert une infrastructure de pointe. Le réseau de télécommunications avancées du RISQ, qui dessert les établissements d’éducation du Québec, a été conçu pour répondre aux besoins les plus exigeants de la recherche et de l’éducation et il est particulièrement bien adapté à ce type d’utilisation. L’étendue de notre réseau en régions ainsi que la participation de notre partenaire, le Réseau collectif de la Gaspésie, nous permet de rejoindre l’ensemble des régions du Québec pour offrir des services aussi porteurs »

Michel Vanier,
Directeur général du RISQ


« Pour RIDEAU, le projet PropulseART représente une belle occasion de décentralisation, dans la mesure où il permet à des initiatives artistiques régionales de rayonner vers les centres et inversement, tout autant qu'entre régions. Voilà ce qui nous apparaît être le véritable sens du réseautage. »

Colette Brouillé,
Directrice générale de RIDEAU


« Quand la Gaspésie et Montréal décident de se regarder dans les yeux, le Québec gagne le pari de se rapprocher. »

Roland Auger,
Directeur général du Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional :: Valid CSS :: Powered by WikkaWiki